Sony DT 85 f2.8 SAM lens

I’ve had this lens for some weeks but haven’t used it much. This weekend I did a couple portraits with it and was very pleased with the results.

Portrait taken with Sony DT 85 f/2.8 SAM

That image and the two below were all taken with the Sony A580 + the DT 85 f/2.8 SAM.

Portrait taken with Sony DT 85 f/2.8 SAM

Portrait taken with Sony DT 85 f/2.8 SAM

I can’t remember for sure but I think all of the shots above were taken with camera on tripod. With camera on tripod, the Sony A580’s Focus Check LV is very useful for portraits. But I have found that the lens autofocuses pretty well, too.

It’s a good portrait lens, especially for head shots. Getting close as I did here (about 5 ft from camera to eyes) gives me a little more than an inch of depth of field. But I don’t think this has to be a portrait lens exclusively. I may use it as well for wedding ceremonies. But it does strike me as a particularly good “people” lens.

As for the build of the “easy choice” lenses, at the risk of sounding like I’ve lost my mind, I have to say that I love it. I’m comparing these lenses mainly to Pentax primes, which for the most part are well built in a traditional sense. Yes the Sony “easy choice” lenses are plastic, and if plastic means “cheap” to you, then you might think the Sony lenses are cheap. But I don’t feel that way. For me, plastic means “inexpensive” and “light weight.” I have three of these lenses: the 30 f/2.8, 50 f/1.8 and the 85 f/2.8. The only complaint about them is that they’re all so small and light that, when I pull one out of my lens drawer, I have to read the focal length off the lens, because I can’t easily tell which is which simply by look or weight. In other words, I don’t really have any serious complaints.

Small, light, attractive, fast, sharp—and very affordably priced. What’s not to like?

*

This post was originally drafted as a response in the Sony Camera Group on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

