White Rose

White rose

Brides (usually) wear white gowns with (usually) subtle textures. Capturing those textures is hard. Having a couple dozen white roses here (what I gave my daughter for Valentine’s Day) I decided to do a little flash practice.

To bring out the texture of the rose, I knew I needed the light to be directional. The rose is lit by two flash units fired by radio triggers. The main flash was about 45º off the camera’s axis to the right — and fairly close. Because the light was bounced off a wall right behind me, it was fairly soft. The secondary flash was bounced into a ceiling corner about 90º to the right and three times as far away.

The shot was taken hand-held at 1/160th sec. Little tricky, that, given the shallow depth of field here, but the Steady Shot feature of the Sony Alpha A580 helps.

Although I live across the street from the Dallas Arboretum and shoot there quite frequently, flowers are not my favorite subjects, in fact, I find flowers rather challenging. I’m reasonably pleased with this little shot because I got the lighting right and got the effect I wanted: you can see the subtle veins (if that’s what they’re called) in the petals of the flower.

Modest post-processing in Lightroom 3. I initially tried to process this in Aperture 3, but Aperture crashed on me (as it has done a number of times) and I switched. I may have more to say about Aperture in a future post.

Leave a Reply

