Leukemia Cup Regatta

East Dallas News editor Bruce Felps asked me to take a few photos at this morning’s Leukemia Cup Regatta, so I did. The regatta this weekend is hosted by the Corinthian Sailing Club of White Rock Lake, in partnership with the North Texas/Oklahoma chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

I had one technical problem after another with cameras, but that’s why you bring backups. At least I managed to stay in the boat—something I confess I was a tad worried about. It was a thrill to be in the middle of a regatta.
Leukemia Cup Regatta at White Rock Lake, April 30, 2011

I am grateful to skipper Mike Mittman for having me aboard.Skipper Mike Mittman at the wheel of a helper boat during the Leukemia Cup Regatta. On the boat with us (front, right) was Devon Kerr. She is one of this year's Honor Heroes for the North Texas/Oklahoma Chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

I had the honor of meeting (and boating with) Devon Kerr, who is one of the Honor Heroes for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society this year.
Father Jeff Kerr and daughter Devon, one of this year's Honor Heroes for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Few more photos here. The article at the East Dallas Times is supposed to run next Tuesday.

Addendum Tuesday, May 3, 2011: The article is now online, here.

Leave a comment